Qualifications Explained

What is the SCQF?

The Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF) is a way of comparing the wide range of Scottish qualifications. It covers programmes in school, college, university and in the workplace. It does this by giving each qualification on the framework a level and a number of credit points.

The level of a qualification shows how difficult the learning is. The credit points show how much learning is involved in achieving that qualification. Each credit point represents an average of 10 hours of learning.

The SCQF can:

  • help you decide how you progress in your learning
  • help you understand qualifications you are not familiar with
  • help employers understand different types of qualifications
  • help with the development of your skills
  • help colleges and universities identify the level that has been studied in a particular subject
  • help make it easier to transfer credit points between different learning programmes
  • provide recognition of other areas of your learning that may contribute to your personal development and your goals for the future.

All Scottish colleges and universities are now using SCQF levels and credit points to describe their courses, but only if these have been credit rated into the framework. Some employers are also using SCQF levels instead of, or as well as, types of qualification when they advertise jobs.

More information can be found on the SCQF website.